Skip to main content

The Executive Committee consists of the President, two Vice-Presidents, Secretary, Treasurer, and six additional members who shall be elected in three classes of two members each.The Executive Committee shall be elected at the annual meeting of the association.

The YRALIS Performance Handicap Racing Fleet (PHRF) committee creates handicaps that are based on the speed potential of a sailing yacht, determined on observations of the yacht's previous observed racing performance. In reviewing new yachts, the handicap committee will compare the new yacht to other vessels that they are familiar with and are comparable in specifications to the vessel being rated. The committee, from time to time, will look for boats of the same type, based on sail area to displacement ratios and then make adjustments based on the differences to the new yacht. If available, designer's comments, IRC certificates or other handicaps will be used in quantifying the yacht's speed potential. In addition, handicappers might look to see if a similar model of the new boat has raced in another PHRF area. The handicap can then be adjusted, based on deltas from the other area & the YRALIS. The difficult part of handicapping a sailboat is qualifying of the racing program of the boat. Just because a boat finishes last all the time or, on the other hand, wins many races, does not necessarily mean that the handicap is wrong. The YRALIS has currently over two thousand sailing yachts rated. This comprehensive list, along with the variety of of persons from the sailing industry & vast experience in yacht racing, have created a PHRF list of ratings respected all over the country.


                                                            2018 PHRF Committee


   Area 1: Connecticut East of Stamford
   Alistair Duke 

   Area 2: Stamford & Captian's Harbor
   Richard Sinclair

   Area 3:  Milton & Mamaroneck Harbors

   Area 4:  Larchmont & New Rochelle
   Stephen Cain,   

   Area 5: Eastchester& Little Neck Bays
   Bill Heintz

   Area 6:  Manhasset Bay & Hempstead Harbor
   Paul Wefer

   Area 7: Oyster Bay & Cold Spring Harbor
  Daniel Watt

   Area 8:  Huntington & Port Jefferson Harbors

   June Kendrick

   Charlie Powers 

   Hudson River YRA



The Racing Programs Committee is responsible for coordinating and organizing the full year YRA racing schedule, publishing the annual YRA Race Book and organizing the annual YRA Championship Regatta                                                                                                    

Steve Cain    
Andrea Watson


The Nominating Committee is composed of people who typically have served the YRA in one or more capacities and/or have otherwise distinguished themselves in service to the sport of sailing. The committee's goal is to identify and attract outstanding and dedicated individuals to serve as officers and directors. The recommended slate is presented to the incumbent officers and directors for their assent and then to the membership as candidates for election at the annual meeting.  

Adam Loory, Chair
Tom Hering    
Jed Kelly       

Ken Hall        

Roger Widmann

Bruce Cook, Chair
Mary M. Savage      
David M. Sinclair    
Peter L. Wilson       



Coordination of race training programs for Cerified Race Officers and other race officials. Prepares Notice of Race and Sailing Instructions for the YRA Annual Championship Regatta

Bruce Cook  

Promote and support One Design Racing on Long Island Sound

Rich Rubel



Josh Burack 

Robert Counihan   

Andrea Watson, Chair
Cynthia Parthemos        
Doug Shannon              
David Storrs