Skip to main content

2015 YRA Annual Meeting and Awards

The YRALIS Annual Meeting is truly the end of the racing season and the beginning of the holidays.  And it was a festive group that gathered at Larchmont Yacht Club for the 120th annual event.  Over 100 enjoyed presenting remarks by YRA President, Charles Powers, who spent some time giving the audience a short history of the YRA, which began back in 1895.  Next up was an informative presentation about Rocking The Boat, a Bronx-based non-profit whose purpose in life is to empower young people from the South Bronx to develop the self-confidence to set ambitious goals and gain the skills necessary to achieve them.  Founder and Executive Director, Adam Green, accompanied by terrific photos, explained how students work together to build wooden boat, learn to row and sail and restore local urban waterways, and revitalize their community while creating better lives for themselves.  Over 200 teens per year are engaged in programs that last throughout their high school careers and into college.  For more information,, or email them at

Andree Pruett, Chair, YRA Nominating Committee, presented the Slate of Officers.  She first thanked her committee: Norman Schulman, Sea Cliff YC, Adam Loory, Huguenot YC, Thom Hering, Centerport YC, and Jed Kelly, Larchmont YC for their service.  The 2016 Slate of Officers:  President: Stephen Cain, Huguenot YC, Vice President: Cynthia Parthemos, Larchmont YC, Vice President: Arthur Buhr, Port Washington YC, Treasurer: Jeffrey Jammer, Lloyd Harbor YC, Secretary: Park Benjamin, Seawanhaka Corinthian YC, Director, Class of 2016: Iris Vogel, Huguenot YC, Director, Class of 2016: Charles Goodrich, Stamford YC, Director, Class of 2017: Dana O’Brien, Riverside YC. Director, Class of 2017: Josh Burack, Can One Evening Race Association, Director, Class of 2018: Rich Rubel, Centerport YC and Director, Class of 2018: Michael Millard, Indian Harbor YC.   All were voted into office.

Handing out season awards was next.  Many thanks are extended to: outgoing President Charlie Powers for scoring throughout the season – a huge undertaking!  And thanks to incoming President Steve Cain who ordered all the trophies.  Congratulations to all the skippers and their crew.

The last awards to be presented were the YRA Special Awards.

The Ned Anderson Achievement Award is the YRA’s highest honor, recognizing outstanding service by an individual to yacht racing on Long Island Sound.  The award, established in 1961 and first awarded to Briggs Cunningham, is given to nominees who are amateur sailors who sail on LIS and are members of the YRA.  Bernard Armstrong won this award for his long-term commitment to the YRA:  Past President, his work with the YRA Championship Regatta and the implementation of the YRA website.

The David Pryor Sportsmanship Trophy was rededicated in 1991 to honor outstanding sportsmanship.  The recipients are selected by the YRALIS Executive Committee from nominees submitted to the Committee and the recipient’s name will be sent to US SAILING as a nomination for its sportsmanship award. William Baxter, Sr., won the award for hi commitment to the YRALIS PHRF Committee for over 34 years and for representing the YRALIS on the US SAILING PHRF Committee.

The Roger H. Shope Trophy is the YRA’s most recent award and was established in 1998 to honor outstanding achievement in Race Management.  Butch Ulmer won this award for his life work as a Principle Race Officer for small boats and large. From the 1990 Etchells regatta, then to the Vanguard National Champs in 2009, the Star Centennial Regatta in 2011, the J80 North Americans, the Shields Nationals in 2014, PRO for the Intercollegiate Offshore Regatta for many years, and in 2015 PRO for the Viper North Americans.  

The Arthur P. Davis-Beach Point YC Award is the YRA’s oldest trophy. It was established in 1955 by Arthur P. Davis to recognize an outstanding single achievement in running an event or championship, or to recognize the long-term contributions of a particular member club to the sport of yacht racing on Long Island Sound (“LIS”). Indian Harbor YC is in the forefront of yacht racing on LIS.  Some of their events in 2015 include:  Junior Sailing: the I-420 Atlantic Coast Championships and the Law Trophy, Women’s Sailing: The Loma Whittesley Women’s Invitational Regatta, Inter-Club: The Ideal 18 Inter-Club Championship, Classics: the Classic Yacht Regatta, and One Design: held the first ever J/88 New England Championships in October and the Stratford Shoal Distance Regatta on the same weekend!

Check out photos from the event on the YRA Facebook page.