Skip to main content

2015 YRA Match Racing Championship for the Taylor Trophy

Posted in

YRA Match Racing Championship for the Taylor Trophy

Calling all Match Racers!


The 2015 YRA Match Racing Championship for the Taylor Trophy will be held on Saturday and Sunday, June 27-28 at Larchmont Yacht Club (LYC).  The organizing authority is the YRA of LIS and LYC.  Dave Perry will join us for a clinic on Saturday morning, with racing on Saturday afternoon and all day Sunday. 

This is a Grade 5 invitation-only regatta. A maximum of eight skippers will be invited from those who apply.  Skippers interested in participating should submit a sailing resume, with recent match race information, to the OA at no later than June 6.  Resumes received after June 6  may be accepted at the discretion of the OA.  Invitations will be issued by June 9.  The regatta will be sailed in Ideal 18’s provided by LYC.  The NOR is posted on the home page at and at

 The Taylor Trophy is awarded to the winning YRALIS club.  All helmsmen must be members of a YRALIS member club or YRALIS recognized Sailing Group, and a member of US Sailing.

Last year’s event was a great success. The team of Chris Johannessen and Wes Bemus (Cedar Point YC), beat Jonathan Hammond and Madeline Gill (Oakcliff Sailing) in the last race of the day. Third was Benjamin Gent and Chris Bigos (New York YC).   Hammond and Gent had 5 wins each but the tie-breaker went to Hammond.  The day brought many surprises with predictions of who might win dashed as the racing continued. The competition was the best ever for the Taylor Trophy, thanks to Dave Perry who held a match racing clinic the day before at LYC.

Final Results:  1.Chris Johannessen, 2. Jonathan Hammond, 3. Benjamin Gent, 4. Doug Wefer (Sea Cliff YC), 5. Derek Webster (LYC), 6. David Storrs (Pequot YC), 7. Doug Shannon (Oakcliff Sailing), 8. Bahar Gidwani (Mamaroneck Frostbite Association).

While everyone knows Dave Perry, they might not know the extent of his sailing accomplishments.  Some of the highlights: winner of the 1982, 2006, 2008 and 2011 U.S. Match Racing Championship and 1983 and 1984 Congressional Cup.  In 1995 he became the first recipient of US Sailing’s Captain Joe Prosser Award for exceptional contribution to sailing education; and in March 2001 Dave received the W. Van Alan Clarke, Jr. Trophy, US Sailing’s national award for sportsmanship.  In 1992 he was voted into the Sailing World Hall of Fame. Dave was the Rules Advisor to the U.S. Olympic Sailing Team in 2008 and 2012, and to two recent America’s Cup Teams (Victory Challenge in 2006-2007 and Artemis Racing in 2012-2013). Dave is author of the North U Match Racing Playbook, Understanding the Racing Rules of Sailing through 2016, Dave Perry’s 100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes, and Winning in One-Designs.  He currently is on the Board at Oakcliff Sailing.