Skip to main content

2015 YRALIS Championship Regatta

Posted in

Record Turnout for

YRALIS 10th Anniversary Championship Regatta


Yacht Racing Association of Long Island Sound held their 10th annual PHRF & One Design Championship on August 1-2, 2015.  The regatta, hosted by Riverside YC, American YC and Indian Harbor YC, was a banner year in terms of number of participants, as 113 boats with approximately 450 sailors in 13 divisions, ranging from a one person 14’ Laser sail boat to a 47’ fixed keel boat with a crew of 9, joined fellow competitors to vie for top billing on the leader board.

Mother nature once again defied the naysayers who predict little wind on Long Island Sound in August.   Racers at all three yacht clubs were greeted with great wind on Saturday and had one terrific day of racing.  Sunday the wind was light and fluky and racing was postponed until the wind filled in.  Even so, by all accounts, the racers were a happy bunch when they gathered for the post-racing party at Riverside YC on Saturday and for the parties and Awards Ceremonies on Sunday at Riverside YC and American YC.

YRALIS President, Charles Powers, was the Master of Ceremonies at the Awards Ceremony at Riverside YC., while Charles Goodrich, Board Member, Stamford YC, did the honors at American YC.  They both began by thanking Event Co-chairs and YRA Board Members Ken Hall, Riverside YC and Jay Rhame, Larchmont YC, who were instrumental in making this year’s 10thanniversary regatta the most successful event in the 10- year history.  They also thanked the sponsors who supported this regatta: Vineyard Vines, Val’s Putnam Wines and Liquors, North Sails, Riverside YC and American YC. Also thanked were the PROs of the four racing circles: Bernard Armstrong, Riverside YC,  Roger van Loveren and Karen Nye,  Indian Harbor YC, and Bob Schwartz-Leeper and David Barton, American YC.

Winners in each division:  Viper 640: Jenny, Zeke Horowitz, Larchmont YC; J/70: Menace, Kerry Klinger, Cedar Point YC; International Etchells: Peter Duncan, American YC; Shields: Intime, Peter McWhinnie, Larchmont YC; S-Boats: Allegro, William Simmons, Horseshoe Harbor YC; Ideal 18,  Barry Parkin, Riverside YC; Laser: JYF, Jean Fillion, American YC/New York YC; Beneteau First 36.7: Whirlwind, William Purdy, City Island YC; PHRF I: Coyote, Bill Clemmens, Indian Harbor YC; PHRF II: Velocity, Kevin Marks, Noroton YC; PHRF III: Smokin’ J, Tom & Julie Sinatra, Raritan YC; PHRF IV: Loki3, Richard Correll, Masthead Cove YC; PHRF Navigator:  Rascal, Christopher Schneider, Centerport YC/Lloyd Harbor YC. 

In addition to awarding the top three finishers in each division, special awards were also bestowed.  The four Circle Winners for the most outstanding performance amongst the competitors in their respective racing circle were: Kerry Klinger, Menace, J/70, Sport Boat Circle; William Simmons, Allergo, S-Boat, In-Shore One-Design Circle; Barry Parkin, Ideal 18, Small One-Design Circle; and Bill Clemens, Coyote, PHRF and Off-Shore One-Design Circle. Also, Jean Fillion, JYF, Laser, won the Anderson Trophy, Kerry Klinger, Menace, J/70, won the Hipkins Trophy and Mike Millard, Ideal 18, won the Finkbeiner Trophy.

For a complete list of winners, go to:  And don’t forget to check out the photos and videos of the YRA champs on